Join Our Mailing List
 
       


Our Mission & History
Meet the Staff
Board of Directors
Financials
Privacy Policy



Contact Information

Arash Afghahi
arash@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x39

Jacob Agus – Kleinman
jacob@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x13

Halima Ahmed
halima@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x12

Shumi Akhter
shumi@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x13

Omar Aldabagh
omar@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x12

Lena Alhusseini
lena@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x20

Nisreen Aljubouri
nisreen@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x11

Nidal Alloubane
nidal@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x21

Sarah Alsaidi
sarah@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x18

Jamal Alsarraj
jamal@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000

Maha Attieh
maha@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x25

Noshad Azad
noshad@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x18

Roberta Baum
roberta@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x21

Zakia Bifergaane
zakia@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x19

Quratulain (Annie) Chaudry
quratulain@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x17

Kunchok Chodak
kunchok@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x16

Jennifer Cohn
jennifer@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x14

Nyasha Griffith
nyasha@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x28

Mireille Guilbaund
mireille@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x25

Mohammad Hasan
mohammad@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x29

Rama Issa-Ibrahim
rama@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x38

Nadia Jamal
nadia@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x24

Jake Karr
jake@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x13

Aricka Kapoor
aricka@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x15

Haiba (Heba) Khalil
haiba@aafscny.org
(718) 250 – 5035

Bibi Kulsum
bibi@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x31

Ahmed Mohammad
ahmed@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x33

Shaima Mohammad
shaima@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x10

Laura Philips
laura@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x23

Tarek Rahman
tarek@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x15

Tasneem Qazi
tasneem@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x28

Ambreen Qureshi
ambreen@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x22

Saad Saaed
saad@aafscny.org
(718) 937 – 8000 x27

Danny Salim
danny@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x19

J.C. Salyer
(718) 643 – 8000 x35

Cynthia Seay
cynthia@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x10

Shagufta Shah
shagufta@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x29

Salima Sultana
salima@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x16

Yolanda Tart
yolanda@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x34

Hizam Wahib
hizam@aafscny.org
(718) 643 – 8000 x35
LENA ALHUSSEINI, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

AAFSC’s Executive Director, Ms. Lena Alhusseini has extensive experience working on issues of violence against women and children, both in the Middle East and in the U.S. Prior to coming to the U.S., Ms. Alhusseini served with a number of international organizations around the world on issues pertaining to child protection and human trafficking, including USAID and UNICEF. Under the direction of HM Queen Rania Al Abdullah, she established the Jordan River Foundation’s child protection unit, the first organization to address the issue of child abuse in the Middle East. Ms. Alhusseini has been honored as a White House Champion of Change for her work to combat domestic violence.



NIDAL ALLOUBANE, CASE MANAGER

Nidal Alloubane joined AAFSC in 2003. Her previous positions at AAFSC were Senior Instructor of Adult Education and Literacy, and Arabic Instructor. Prior to joining AAFSC, Ms. Alloubane worked first as an elementary school teacher and then as a principal. She is a graduate of Houra College (Jordan), with a Bachelors degree in education, and is fluent in Arabic.



MAHA ATTIEH, HEALTH PROGRAM MANAGER

Maha Attieh joined AAFSC in 2003 as Outreach Counselor for the New York State Office of Mental Health/Project Liberty Program. Her previous positions at AAFSC include Healthcare Program Facilitated Enroller and Outreach Coordinator. Ms. Attieh holds an Associate Degree in Social Work from the Jordan college of Social Work, and received a Certificate in Achievement in 2010 from Baruch College/School of Public Affairs.

Ms. Attieh is a member of the Community Advisory Committee at Brooklyn Hospital, Long Island College Hospital, Lutheran Medical Center, Arthur Ash Institute at Downstate Hospital, The School of Public Health at Downstate Hospital, and the Dodge YMCA. She also participates in several coalitions, including the CPHS People’s Budget Coalition, the Grater Brooklyn Health Coalition, the New York Immigration Health Coalition, the NYC Hepatitis C Coalition, and The Brooklyn Transformation Coalition.

In April 2010, she was honored by the Commission on the Public Health System with the Marshal England Memorial Public Health Award for her advocacy work. She was also honored by the New York Police Department Community Affair Bureau at their first annual Women’s History Month event in 2010 for outstanding service for the community.



J.C. SALYER, STAFF ATTORNEY

J.C. Salyer joined AAFSC in 2006 as Staff Attorney. His experience includes work with the American Civil Liberties Union of New Jersey. Mr. Salyer holds a BA degree in Anthropology from the University of Georgia, and a JD degree from Georgia State University. He is currently a PhD candidate in Anthropology at the Graduate Center/CUNY.



HIZAM WAHIB, DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS

Hizam Wahib joined AAFSC in 2001. His prior work at AAFSC includes supervision of the Legal Department and general administration of the agency. Mr. Wahib has extensive experience in working with the city’s Arab-American community, and he is an active participant in the Yemeni Professionals Association. Mr. Wahib is fluent in Arabic and has attended Kingsborough Community College and John Jay College of Criminal Justice/CUNY.





 


[links]
About AAFSC
The Arab-American Family Support Center is a 501(c)3 non-profit, non-sectarian organization that has taken the initiative in providing culturally, linguistically and religiously sensitive services to members of immigrant communities throughout New York City since 1994. We are a member of United Neighborhood Houses and Better Business Bureau and Guidestar certified.



© 2014 All Rights Reserved.
 
AAFSC Brooklyn
150 Court Street, 3rd Flr
Brooklyn, NY 11201
T: 718 - 643 - 8000
F: 718 - 797 - 0410
E: info@aafscny.org
AAFSC Family Justice Center
350 Jay Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
T: 718 - 250 - 5035

AAFSC Queens
37-10 30th Street, 2nd Fl.

Queens, NY 11101
T: 718 - 937 - 8000
F: 347 - 808 - 8778